UKC

Downhill walking

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
aleakyboat 06 Jul 2019

Hi, apologies if this is on the wrong forum as I’m new to it. I would be grateful if anyone could give a little advice. My mother seems to be experiencing difficulties with downhill walking, I know it’s much harder on certain joints, what has happened on walks up Snowdon and Pen Y Fan is after so long of walking downhill her lower back starts to hurt, progressing to her leaning backwards and becoming very difficult to stay upright. She has climbed Kilimanjaro and only suffered this problem towards the very end- I don’t know whether her technique is wrong? Thank you in advance for any advice, much appreciated.

In reply to aleakyboat:

Is she wearing a pack/rucksac? And if so is it correctly fitted?

SouthernSteve 06 Jul 2019
In reply to aleakyboat:

Really difficult to be specific. Core exercises to strengthen the back and glutes might help, but I would get your mum to see a physio for some specific advice.

Removed User 06 Jul 2019
In reply to aleakyboat:

How old is your mother? Is she overweight? Is she fit?

Mark Kemball 06 Jul 2019
In reply to aleakyboat:

Does she use walking poles? If so does she change their length (longer downhill)?

Billhook 07 Jul 2019
In reply to aleakyboat:

High Heels are not recommended for hill walking.  

Tell her to buy a pair of boots.

Post edited at 06:29
aleakyboat 07 Jul 2019
In reply to SouthernSteve:

Thanks, I think physio advice is the way forward. Mum is 70 and quite fit, she successfully climbed Kilimanjaro recently so she has very good walking boots, poles etc She had this balance issue only towards the end of the last day of 2 days downhill on that trip, I did wonder if her lower back may actually be the problem. But thanks, physio it is. Just didn’t know if this was a common problem! No issues uphill at all. Thank you.

tlouth7 08 Jul 2019
In reply to aleakyboat: