UKC

Gym exercises

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Cragbopper 20 Oct 2019

Hi there,

Having just started with mountaineering/hillwalking, I am having troubles with my muscular endurance, specifically in my calves and lower quads, which in the summer months cramp up a lot. My cardiovascular fitness is good as I’ve been training for about 4 days a week for 5 years, however this has been strength/bodybuilding weightlifting training which is not suitable at all! Whilst I don’t want to stop my current training for fear of losing my progress, I’d like to be able to improve the trouble areas. This issue here is time. I have added 10 mins of High intensity interval training (HIIT) on a watt bike, and 10 mins on the stair master as I only have 20 mins to spare on top of what I’m already doing (around 1.5 hours of intense weight training) I’m not certain this will be much use as the aerobic aspect is pretty much non existent to what I’ve been reading online. 

Has anyone here got any better suggestions on what I can do within the 20 minute time frame to really make a difference in the hills?

Thanks in advice for any suggestions!

Becky E 20 Oct 2019
In reply to Cragbopper:

The big clue is in your first sentence:

> Having just started with mountaineering/hillwalking, I am having troubles with my muscular endurance, specifically in my calves and lower quads, which in the summer months cramp up a lot.

If it's a summer-only problem, that suggests that you're possibly not drinking enough whilst exercising during warm weather.  So make sure that you're drinking enough throughout the day.

Stretches can also help.

Good summary here:  https://www.bupa.co.uk/health-information/exercise-fitness/exercise-muscle-....

Cragbopper 20 Oct 2019
In reply to Becky E:

Thanks Becky, yeah most likely the cause behind the cramps, I do sweat a lot! But still have fatigue issues and a heavy burn when it’s colder, Any exercise suggestions for the gym?