UKC

Hearing aids & sweat

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Ian Carey 10 Sep 2023

I wreck hearing aids.

I think it is due to it often getting damp due to sweat & rain.

I'm after any advice about how I could make them last longer?

I've been wearing a hearing aid in my right ear for the past 18 months.

I have moderate to severe hearing loss, although my left ear is fine.

I have a basic aid from the NHS, & it makes a good improvement on my hearing.

I am now on my 2nd one, which sadly may not last much longer.

I wear it all the time when out and about, including cycling, walking & climbing.

If I don't wear it, I really notice the tinnitus, which is very annoying & of course, I hear less.

The aid quickly starts to get mouldy & despite regular cleaning I find it hard to keep the mould at bay.

The hearing clinic have been very good and gave me a new in June as the previous one stopped working.

I suspect that they may be inclined to stop replacing them at the rate of 2 a year.

I have looked at getting a private one, but suspect it will suffer the same fate.

Clearly hearing aids are delicate devices that pack some fancy electronics into a tiny space.

Is there a way to stop wrecking hearing aids or are sweaty activities just not compatible with such devices?

Cheers, Ian.

Sean Kelly 10 Sep 2023
In reply to Ian Carey:

If they lasted any longer, you will eventually lose one if not both! I've lost 3 this year alone!

Post edited at 13:04
 angry pirate 10 Sep 2023
In reply to Ian Carey:

I'm on my second pair after the first pair malfunctioned but they have lasted really well so far after three or so years.

I wear mine all the time including for walking, climbing and mountain biking and they have had their fair share of sweat and proper rain without incident. I don't use them road biking but that's mainly as I listen to music instead.