UKC

How do I learn good climbing technique?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
wolfkinara 11 Dec 2019

How do I learn good technique, short of paying to take classes?

So I started climbing in a local climbing gym around December and after the first month have been going about 3 times a week and I do both top roping and bouldering. My goal is to lead climb and hopefully Trad climb at some point, but that's a little further down the road.

Anyway, I went to a different gym just to try some new problems and noticed that there was a climbing class going on for little kids and it made me think that I should concentrate more on my technique since I'm still relatively new to climbing. Any websites/videos/books I could check out (I've had a TR partner mention a book called the self coached climber)? Should I just ask people at the gym? Should I just bite the bullet and pay for classes?

brianjcooper 11 Dec 2019
In reply to wolfkinara:

Watching good climbers helps too.

summo 11 Dec 2019
In reply to wolfkinara:

Mileage, don't chase grades. Stay tied in and repeat relatively easy routes a few times, apart from being a good warm up you can try moves differently, position your body differently, different hands.. 

Read up about different moves, watch YouTube..  laybacking, mantleshelving, edging, stepping through, under cutting, smearing..  don't forget it is more about what you do with your feet and body position, not your arms. 

Post edited at 08:08
In reply to wolfkinara:

you've got the right idea. a lot of people starting out aim to get stronger to improve. technique will get you much further! 

i never had classes and i don't know anyone who has. that's not to say you shouldn't take classes but you can definitely get good at climbing without them!