UKC

One Day Ascents in Pyrenees in September

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Simonator 06 Apr 2022

Hi all,

I'm going to be staying in Benasque in September and am looking for a challenging (ideally >3000m) one day climb in the area.  I'm a beginner, decent fitness and have previously completed Aneto with a guide, have essential gear and a car.

Happy to get up very early, but looking for a physically challenging but straightforward and non-technical route.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Simon

Billhook 07 Apr 2022
In reply to Simonator:

I'd suggest buying a guide book.

NB a walking guide - not a climbing guide!!±

john arran 07 Apr 2022
In reply to Billhook:

One thing I would add is that in September, the risk of difficulty from any remaining snow is extremely small, to the point of being negligible, so certainly don't plan on taking any winter equipment. However, while the weather is usually very stable in September, nights can be pretty cold at altitude by then, so do make sure you're suitably equipped if there's any chance at all of being benighted.

In reply to Simonator:

Hi mate,

If you're looking to put yourself through some pain you can do Pico de Posets in one day, doing it via the normal route.

I made a video on a different route (called Espadas-Posets) on Posets that's a lot more challenging (link below of video I made on it), but they share the same starting point, and both routes pass by the refuge.

youtube.com/watch?v=Lva8MDkp82E&

I'll give you some info and advice on the normal route.