UKC

Puig Campana advice - experience for Espolon Cent

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Tom Poulter 09 Mar 2019

Hi all

Just registered as a new member.  I have been mountaineering for many years and regularly go bouldering, but wanting to start some sport climbing.  I climb some very short / easy routes at my local quarry.  I have some coaching sessions arranged for some of the A55 sports climb venues, starting next month.

1st week in July i'm doing a week long course in the Alps including, hopefully, a summit of Mont Blanc. At the end of July I'm due to be visiting my parents on the Costa Blanca and I've been looking at options for spending one day doing some guided climbing.  I've been looking into Puig Campana and the Espolon central route.  

Sorry if this is a really dumb question, but I am wondering if it is realistic for me to be able to do this (with a suitability qualified/experienced guide - any recommendations appreciated).  I think the grade of climbing should be OK for me, but have not done multi-pitch routes and wondering how scary the level of exposure would be for a relative novice.

I'd be grateful for any advice.

cheers

Tom

danieleaston 09 Mar 2019
In reply to Tom Poulter:

Espolon centrale is a trad route with bolted belays. Felt about S/ HS to me but very long, if you take a guide and have been mountaineering for years then I cant imagine youd have an issue apart from fitness as it can be a very long climbing day. Dont remember it being paticularly exposed but it depends what mountaineering you have done i suppose.

Mark Eddy 09 Mar 2019
In reply to Tom Poulter:

Hi Tom,

Espolon Central on Puig Campana is a fine route. Very long at around 450m of climbing up to about S/HS.