UKC

Learning Trad

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
parkinaj 08 Jun 2012
Morning

I have been climbing indoors for over 12 months now and have followed twice outdoors.

I want to learn how to place gear correctly, top anchors etc and generally develop my outdoor climbing skills.

Does anybody know of any courses, climbing clubs I could join, I live close to Ilkley. Or would anybody fancy a day teaching the basics.

Thanks

Andy
andic 08 Jun 2012
In reply to parkinaj:

Hi, I have seen a couple of posts from MIA candidates looking for clients to practice on this week, you could get in touch with them. Or look for your local BMC affiliated club on their website.

You might get more response if you fill in your profile a bit
andic 08 Jun 2012
 EZ 08 Jun 2012
In reply to parkinaj:

I'd help if I was closer.
This previous post from me has club list and MLT links in: http://www.ukclimbing.com/forums/t.php?t=506686&v=1#x6885086
 Andy Hardy 08 Jun 2012
In reply to parkinaj:

You could try joining the Vibram club (nearish to you) http://www.vibram.org.uk/index.htm
 sparra 08 Jun 2012
In reply to parkinaj:

Leeds Mountaineering Club is on your doorstep, climbing outside every decent Wednesday evening, usually north of Leeds (Ilkley Rocky Valley last Wed). They're great at bringing on beginners (I learnt almost from scratch with them) and often arrange intro to leading courses

Have a look - http://leedsmc.org/ - you'll get a good feel from their bulletin boards
In reply to parkinaj: In terms of teaching climbing in the UK there are several qualifications.

The most basic is the Single Pitch Award and being a basic qualification SPA holders vary considerably in experience. However, the key point is that SPA holders are NOT taught or assessed on their ability to teach, instruct or supervise lead climbing.