UKC

Recommend me a rowing machine please

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 David Hooper 20 Jun 2012
Hi guys

Gonna do my own Internet research as well but UKC usually comes up trumps with queries like this.

I've heard somewhere that the Concept 2 (?) is the one to go for. Is that correct or are there others to consider? Getting a good machine is more important than price issues.

Also am I right in thinking that they exercise ALL your muscle groups,arms,legs,back and core. Sounds too good to be true.

Thanks in advance for your help.

David
 Reach>Talent 20 Jun 2012
In reply to David Hooper:
I'm not an expert on rowing machines but the concept2 ones I've used seem to be pretty well constructed and popular with a lot of gyms. One thing to say is that they aren't the best if you are really long legged, the tracks could really do with being an inch or two longer but this is only really an issue if you are very tall
 nniff 20 Jun 2012

Concept 2 all thw way.

I can't say that I've thought about which muscle groups it exercises - I suppose it does do most, but clearly some more than others.

Make sure that you watch Concept2's video to get your technique right and practice to make sure that you get a good action before really throwing yourself at it - if you don't, you do run a higher risk of injury and it will be a far less rewarding form of exercise.
 George Ormerod 20 Jun 2012

Concept 2 all the way David. The older models are fine and there's a thriving trade in second hand ones as they're bomb proof (and you can buy spares pretty easily). I got one for £500, the only trouble is that they don't seem to come up too often in the NW. Try ebay.
 MG 20 Jun 2012
In reply to David Hooper: Note you could/can hire Concept II ones from the company at reasonable rates.
 mrchewy 20 Jun 2012
A kayak?
 Skyfall 20 Jun 2012

Yes, concept 2. As said, the old models are fine and in fact I think were better in some respects.