UKC

Is the Earth Doomed?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Bimble 23 Jan 2013
About time scientists started using succinct titling http://bit.ly/UFCHZj

This bit interested me most, especially as someone bound by objectivity in my work (I'm not a scientist, but I do take a good interest in it all).

'...What is the responsibility of scientists, many of them funded by taxpayer dollars through institutions like the National Science Foundation, to tell us just exactly how f*cked we are? Should scientists be neutral arbiters who provide information but leave the fraught decision-making and cost-benefit analysis to economists and political actors? Or should they engage directly in the political process or even become advocates for policies implied by their scientific findings?'

GrahamD 23 Jan 2013
In reply to TryfAndy:

The accuracy of the answer is only as good as the ability of the audience to understand. Most people want complex issues boiled down to yes/no answers and if you want that you have to expect that the answer you got won't necessarily answer the question you thought you asked.
Wiley Coyote2 23 Jan 2013
In reply to TryfAndy:
In answer to your question: No. The earth will be just fine. It will trundle along as it has for billions of years. We, by contrast, along with an awful lot of other species, may be f*cked.
OP Bimble 23 Jan 2013
In reply to GrahamD:

I think that putting the results in a way that is more accessible to the audience is also important though, the title of the presentation in question being a good example.
If it has the ability to appeal to a wider audience than just journals & peer reviews, despite being a little bit blunt, then surely that's a good thing?

As for yes/no, if that's what it takes to make a difference in this case then it could well be useful to ignore the fact that nothing is yes/no and just tell the uninformed it is for the sake of the planet.
OP Bimble 23 Jan 2013
In reply to Wiley Coyote: