UKC

New to Lead- Question about placing protection

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
AwfullyBigAdventure 24 Jun 2013
Hi all,

Sorry if this is a stupid question

I am fairly new to climbing, been indoor and outdoor bouldering for a few years and just moving onto the ropes now. I have done an intermediate course on setting up for basic top roping, and I have a good understanding of ropes, slings, carabiners etc but I am now reading up on nut, hexes, and cramming devises.

Obviously I will not use them until taking a course but my stupid question is... once placed in the rock, what is to stop them from moving upwards as the climber ascends and coming loose?

Thanks
ABA
 GridNorth 24 Jun 2013
In reply to AwfullyBigAdventure: a) a good fit b) a long sling/QD c) a short sharp tug d) being aware of the direction you are climbing after placing the nut. Despite all this now and again a nut will dislodge, it happens to the best of us.
 Cameron94 24 Jun 2013
In reply to AwfullyBigAdventure: A well seated nut shouldn't lift out, give it a downward tug if you need to (while still on the racking biner that way you can hold the other wires).

Extending gear using longer quickdraws or slingdraws will also help reduce the chance of it lifting out especially cams.
 jkarran 24 Jun 2013
In reply to AwfullyBigAdventure:

You isolate them from rope movement pretty well using a sling or quickdraw. The krab on the quickdraw slides freely on the rope. Wherever possible you 'seat' the nut giving it a little tug (tug the quickdraw or the rack of nuts) so the rock bites into the nut surface holding it in place.

Where this isn't possible or the placement is really critical and still prone to lifting you can sometimes tie the nut down (or across) to another bit of gear so it can't fall out. Generally that's overkill, you just put plenty in and rely on the combination of well seated, well extended and redundant gear.

jk
 Skyfall 24 Jun 2013

> cramming devises.