UKC

Mont Blanc Summit Bid

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Alistair 26 Jul 2016
I have been investigating ways and means to make an attempt on Mont Blanc. Being an experienced "hill walker" (Lake District, Ben Nevis (Summer), Brecon Beacons etc.), I have had no real experience in alpine conditions. I can use crampons and Ice axes, and understand how to self arrest.

The obvious choice is to join an organised trip, but to a humble family man who would be taking precious holiday time to partake - these seem very expensive (2K +) and aside of all that If I was to do it I would like to climb the mountain on my own terms.

I have and will continue to research/plan everything in minute detail, however there is one area I cannot account for that being acclimatization. All the groups seem to suggest 1 day is sufficient to accommodate this before ascending to the huts and beyond.

My questions are -
Should I be considering this at all - given my level of expertise ?
I plan to do the whole trip over 7 days is this long enough
Is 1 day sufficient to acclimatize
If this is simply a pipe dream are there some alternatives that will offer the full "Alpine Experience" without killing me in the process?

gavinpeach 26 Jul 2016
In reply to Alistair:
Hi Alistair, I did the gouter route (on my 1st alpine trip)a few years ago. There is some scrambling up to the gouter hut (and rockfall danger crossing the grand couloir) but no real climbing as such. We spent day 1 going to the gouter hut and then went to the summit and back down to the valley on day 2. Before mont blanc we did the petite verte (an easily accessible short route) to acclimatise. You could also get one of the telepheriques up into the mountains and spend a night bivying for extra acclimatisation. All in all if you are an experienced mountain walker who is comfortable at scrambling i'd say go for it. Practice some basic alpine rope work before you go.
 MG 26 Jul 2016
In reply to Alistair: