UKC

Couch to half marathon

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 handofgod 12 Jan 2017

Hi,

I've been out of action since September due to a lower back injury.

The injury has now been sorted and with it being the new year and all that, I've decided to push myself and sign up for a half marathon.

In the past ( pre back injury) I walked,ran,cycled and climbed on a regular bases and my base level of fitness was ok to good. I would by no means class myself of a seasoned runner and if anything, I'm a novice.
Having said that, I have run quite a few park runs (PB 23.40 mins) and a couple of 10k races (PB 55 mins) but never a half marathon.

My question is; with the right training, do you think I could complete the race in sub 2 hrs or should I just aim to complete the race rather than target a time.
Also while I'm training should aim for time or distance as in; run for 40 mins rather than aim for 4 miles.

Any advice much appreciated.
Thanks
Post edited at 15:40
 The New NickB 12 Jan 2017
In reply to handofgod:

Looks like you maybe have poor endurance, someone running 23:40 for 5k should be capable of running sub 50 for 10k and probably 1:50 for a half, but your 10k is a fair bit slower.

Get back running, do your parkruns etc, but start building up to longer runs and see how you get on. I tend to run based on distance, but time is fine if doing an out and back, it's good to know how far you have done though.
 tony 12 Jan 2017
In reply to handofgod:

There are lots of decent half marathon plans available online, so have a look and see what you can make work for you. If your 10k pb is 55 minutes, a 2 hour half is just about manageable, but I'd be inclined just to do it without a target time. Just go and enjoy it, and if you do enjoy it, there will be plenty of other half marathons to aim at.