UKC

Stent: minor procedure?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Flinticus 12 Jan 2017
Any doctors in the house?

My 83 year old dad has had two stens fitted today. Hospital advises all went well and he's OK.

Is this a minor operation? How concerned should I be?
In reply to Flinticus:

I'm not a doctor but I know someone who required stents fitted recently and I believe it is a relatively minor procedure these days. I believe they go in through the wrist artery and is a kind of endoscopic procedure. I'm sure the reason why your dad actually needed them is of far more concern, but obviously there is always going to be some kind of risk involved in any medical procedure.

All the best for your dad.
OP Flinticus 12 Jan 2017
In reply to Hugh J:

Thanks.

Not sure why yet. He gets regular check ups and there was nothing to show concern, e.g. blood pressure, cholesterol all acceptable.
 bonebag 12 Jan 2017
In reply to Flinticus:

I'm sure you dad will be fine. I know folk who have had stents fitted and they go about their normal lives afterwards. Not so long ago it would have been by-pass surgery at a guess or no treatment at all if the patient couldn't have the op.

One of the great advances in modern medicine.

So look after him and encourage him and he'll be back to normal in no time.
 Timmd 12 Jan 2017
In reply to Flinticus:
What bonebag said.

A funny fact about stents, is the thing which causes them to fail most often is people encouraging others to poke them in an 'Hey look at my stent...' kind of way.

It has to be factored into designing them.

If you as a family find out what he needs to do/how to look after him while recovering, your dad should be fine.
Post edited at 21:20
 Nbrain 12 Jan 2017
In reply to Flinticus:

Stent of what is the most important question?
 Skyfall 12 Jan 2017
In reply to Flinticus:

My Dad survived a stent op by about 20 years. Don't worry
 Aly 12 Jan 2017
In reply to Flinticus: