UKC

UK cop to the alps??

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
SpartanOne 12 Jan 2017
Hi guys,

Looking for some advice!

I'm a cop based in scotland and i'm considering taking all my annual leave next winter season to work/climb/ski/tour in the alps.

Does any of you fine fellows and ladies have any idea where I could work or who I could work for to see me through the period?

Obviously have transferable skills from the coppers (such as donut eating etc) and have climbed; skied; worked as an instructor; and have fitted skis/boots for a long time.

Would consider any work as long as I can get out and play at some point!

Cheers in advance!
 spenser 12 Jan 2017
In reply to SpartanOne:

There seemed to be quite a few people working on the transfer buses when I was out in Chamonix a couple of years ago in summer, possibly worth looking at companies like Alpybus.
If you can cook you could apply for a chalet host kind of thing (but I think that is for the whole season usually).
 JayPee630 13 Jan 2017
In reply to SpartanOne:
What does that work out as, 4 weeks? Or longer?

Most people do a season, think it'll be hard to find something that's only for a few weeks, especially if you then want time off to get things done in that as well.

Wouldn't it be better to save a bit and then have a proper holiday few weeks there in a rented place?
Post edited at 08:23
 Trangia 13 Jan 2017
In reply to SpartanOne:

Have you looked into any exchange schemes with French or Swiss police? I think there must be some because my son knows a Swiss cop who is currently on secondment with the Met and whose kids attend the same school as theirs. Do you speak French or German? If so it may be worth making enquiries?
 nutme 13 Jan 2017