UKC

Help finding my first expedition

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
tomeaton17 04 Mar 2017
Hello, I am a 17 year old in my last year of college and I am going to be taking a gap year next year. At the moment I am climbing indoors at around a 6b level, and I have been climbing outdoors in North Wales a few times. I am looking to go on an adventure for my gap year, so climbing up a mountain. I am a bit stuck here, as I have had a look, at alot of the beginner mountains seem like they are just a cold trek, whereas I am looking for something with a bit of climbing in.

I have no experience in ice/winter climbing, so I assume that I would have to learn some basic skills before I went on an expedition.

So please may people help me find the best way to get myself prepared for an expedition, and idea of what expeditions might be suitable for me.

Many thanks,

Tom
 Smythson 04 Mar 2017
In reply to tomeaton17:

You'll need to acquire a fair bit of experience before you're doing much more than a snow plod (which to do safely still requires a reasonable mountaineering skills set). Have a look at getting on one of the Jonathan Conville courses as a starter and also joining your local mountaineering club for some Scottish winter climbing.

I would suggest that there's something of an apprenticeship to be completed before heading out on an expedition.

Good luck and safe travels,

S
 Greasy Prusiks 04 Mar 2017
In reply to tomeaton17:
You'll need to get some more mileage in outdoors before you can realistically think about an expedition. I know that's not what you want to hear but there's no point beating about the bush.

Join a club/find a partner and build your experience as a trad climber and in the mountains. Either that or go on a course but you'll still need to build a lot of experience.

Don't feel disheartened though, learning the skills is a huge part of the fun.
Post edited at 16:09
 PM 04 Mar 2017
In reply to tomeaton17: