UKC

Swimming and Climbing?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 SiobhanStraver 07 Apr 2017
Hey everyone. I've injured my leg and so have taken up swimming to try and stay fit. I really enjoy it, and have been thinking of using it to replace the high impact of running (which I used to do a couple of times a week) as running seems to wreck my legs.

My concern is that swimming uses a lot of the same muscles as climbing- is pairing the two just setting me on a course to ruin my shoulders? I don't mind too much if it doesn't help my climbing, but I definitely don't want swimming getting in the way.

Context: I've been climbing ~3 times a week for nearly two years and seem to be permanently injured (with knee issues for well over a year now). I just want to be able to climb and cross-train without my body breaking at every turn.
 sduke85 08 Apr 2017
In reply to SiobhanStraver:

I took up swimming (again) last year as i injured my shoulder and if any thing it has helped, Swimming is a very good way to get cardio fit without damaging the body as its a low impact sport compared to running etc.

I swim 2-3 times a week and climb 2-3 times a week and have improved in both.

The only way swimming will harm you is if your stroke technique is bad then you'll notice repetitive strain kicking in, IE: pain in your knee if your breaststroke kick is off.

hope this helps.
 jethro kiernan 08 Apr 2017

I've found swimming really helps with niggles in the back and shoulder, good stroke is needed to avoid aggravating shoulder problems, with the huge interest in triathlons and open water swimming there are plenty of coaches who can give you some tips and help correct poor stroke technique
Hope the recovery goes well
 Mr Messy 08 Apr 2017

Shoulders are stronger with swimming. Look up Chloe Sutton on youtube as well for shoulder strength exercises and technique.
 Shani 09 Apr 2017