UKC

Going up Crib Goch alone first time

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
resource 26 Sep 2017
Hello everyone,

I have been aiming to complete the Snowdon horseshoe for some time. I originally planned to complete the walk with two friends of mine earlier in the year but they have both pulled out so I’m left to do it by myself. I’m thinking of going up in a couple of weeks from now. Having kept myself reasonably fit this year I don’t think the physical aspect will be too demanding. Only wanted to double check I cover myself from getting lost and If anyone can give me advice on what to look out for I’d appreciate it. Not quite sure how to tackle the pinnacles? I should add although a competent walker I have no experience of serious hill climbing. Appreciate any advice.

Roy.
 Dan Arkle 26 Sep 2017
In reply to resource:

If you are not the sort of person to freak out with the exposure, then attempt it in good weather and you should be fine. Go for it.

Its technically very easy, you'll need to use your hands occasionally, but mainly for balance.
 Dan Arkle 26 Sep 2017
In reply to resource:

Navigation is straightforward, there is a well worn path to the left (south) of the ridge crest all the way.
In reply to resource:

If you pick a nice day, you are unlikely to have the place to yourself, & then getting lost becomes even less likely. Great walk (with a little scrambling) in wonderful terrain with lofty positions & cracking views - enjoy it
Clauso 27 Sep 2017
In reply to resource:

Your statement of not having done 'serious hill climbing' is a concern. As others have already indicated, getting lost is unlikely to be an issue; however, I'd certainly class Crib Goch as a fairly serious hill walk. If you're not confident about scrambling and handling exposure, then it shouldn't be underestimated.
Post edited at 01:26
mysterion 27 Sep 2017
In reply to resource: