UKC

Female climbing shoe advice

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Bones [:B 26 Oct 2017
Hi all,

I have been climbing for a few years in women's La Sportiva Miura VS climbing shoes and although they fit me pretty well for quality reasons would like to try a different shoe. I have been looking around and found a few pairs that might be good but was wondering if there were any women out there (or men who may have access to this information) who might have some advice for me?

I would like them to be similarly aggressive to the Miura VS and will mainly be using them for bouldering and sport climbing indoors and out. I also trad climb and do multi pitch routes but I'll probably get something different for those climbs.

Climbing shoe advice welcome.

Cheers,
Jen
 Jenny C 26 Oct 2017
In reply to Jen Jones:
Don't restrict your choices by only looking at women specific models.

Depending on your foot shape mens models may fit just as good if not better, and if you are fairly large footed this will massively increase your choices of possible models.
 crimpsoplenty 26 Oct 2017
In reply to Jen Jones:

I wear la sportiva testarossa, found miuras and katanas didn't seem to last too long for me (this could be my poor footwork). The testarossas are still aggressive and are going strong a year later
OP Bones [:B 26 Oct 2017
In reply to Jenny C:

Thanks Jenny. Well they’re not small!
I’m totally happy to have men’s/unisex ones. I think that lasts are the same for a lot of them anyway, just smaller for the women’s shoe.
OP Bones [:B 26 Oct 2017
In reply to crimpsoplenty:

Awesome thanks! I’ll look at those.
My miura’s didn’t last very long either. 3 pairs all started to fall apart in just a month. La Sportiva said it might my footwork so wouldn’t do anything but many other shoes that I had as a beginner lasted years. Who knows!
 duchessofmalfi 26 Oct 2017
In reply to Jen Jones: