UKC

Struggling with cadence on standing climb

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 SiobhanStraver 04 Dec 2017
Some background: I'm a Newbie. I injured my shoulder and have gotten into indoor cycling to plug the non-climbing gap. I've been going 2-3 times a week for 30mins-1hr at a time. Really enjoying it and am now saving for a bike.

So in the meantime I want to improve what I'm doing indoors.
But one thing I've noticed is that whenever I go into a standing climb my cadence drops super low (65/70) even when I reduce the resistance to very low and feel like I still have plenty left in my legs. I seem to end up stepping down jerkily onto each pedal and there's no flow to my pedal stroke. It feels like the only way I can keep a smooth fast rotation going is basically taking my weight onto my arms.

What gives? I've searched around but cant seem to find any answers. Can you guys give me any tips on stroke technique while standing, or does this indicate I may have set up the bike wrong or something?
 Siward 04 Dec 2017
In reply to SiobhanStraver:
Are you reducing the resistance a bit too much? You need something to push against or you will lose smoothness, IMHO anyway.

For my part I only stand in the pedals on hills as a last ditch effort to power me over the brow, otherwise I'll sit down thank you .

Here's some folks discussing it: http://forums.roadbikereview.com/general-cycling-discussion/spinning-standi...
Post edited at 12:31

You'll always have a lower cadence when standing.

When cycling outside on moderate climbs it's normal to change into a slightly harder gear before you stand up and then drop back to an easier one when sitting.

ianstevens 04 Dec 2017

> Some background: I'm a Newbie. I injured my shoulder and have gotten into indoor cycling to plug the non-climbing gap. I've been going 2-3 times a week for 30mins-1hr at a time. Really enjoying it and am now saving for a bike.