UKC

Looking for work over the summer

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
GoneFishing111 17 Mar 2018

Im a student and as such i will have three months off over the summer, last year i returned to my previous job back on site which didn't do my back any good, which was the main reason i quit to go and study in the first place.

Im wondering what to do this summer, I may be able to get some unpaid work with a surveyor, but I could do with being paid, and I fancy doing something different.

I know there are people from all industries and areas of the country so i though a post on here was worth a shot! Anyone know of an interesting position anywhere?

IPPurewater 18 Mar 2018
In reply to GoneFishing111:

What are you studying ? Can you get something in your future line of work ? Do you have other skills that you could use, without resorting to your old job ?

marsbar 18 Mar 2018

Are you any good at entertaining children or teenagers?  I spent several summers doing child care for working parents.  If I understand the rules, the children can't come to your home without you registering, but you can look after children in their own home.  

If you want to learn a language or travel you could mix it with a position abroad. In some countries there is a demand for English speaking people to converse with the children.  

GoneFishing111 18 Mar 2018
In reply to IPPurewater:

Replying to both, Im studying building surveying, i may be able to get an unpaid position for over the summer, which, whilst it would be great i really could do with earning, even if it just enough to live on rather then spending all my savings. I will ask if there is possibility of payment but i doubt it.

Not really sure on other skills, i can build a house or put a road in, apart from that i am unsure, im pretty good on a computer, get on really well with people in general, tend to be a leader rather than led.