UKC

Fingerboard training plan

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Brendan 10 Oct 2018

Looking for a bit of training advice.

It looks like I'm going to have a five month spell where I'm not going to be able to get out climbing or to a climbing wall very much, if at all.

The only resource I'm going to have is a fingerboard and a couple of weight belts. It's going to be pretty grim so I would like to get the most out of the training that I do and any suggestions for how to plan my training would be appreciated.

I've been climbing for around 10 years and have fingerboarded regularly for about four years . I was thinking something along the lines of a month of repeaters, a month of max hangs and a month of pull ups/lock-offs, and then back to the start. Any thoughts?

jezb1 10 Oct 2018
In reply to Brendan:

Download the Crimpd app. It’s free and ace.

JLS 10 Oct 2018
In reply to Brendan:

I'd be thinking repeaters twice a week for six weeks, rest week, max hangs twice a week for six weeks, rest week then back to the start. I think the Ava Lopez advice is that 4 weeks is too short to get the max benefit and 6-8 weeks is better. Pull-up and lock offs I'd combine with a core-y front lever type thing calistetics session once a week to give three sessions a week in total.

OP Brendan 10 Oct 2018
In reply to JLS:

That's exactly the sort of advice I was looking for, thanks so much. Sounds like a good plan.

JLS 10 Oct 2018
In reply to Brendan:

Well yes it's a plan but is it the best plan?  

I think more important than the details of the plan is the enthusiasm with which the plan is undertaken.

Being psyched for an average plan is going to be better than going through the motions with a great plan.

OP Brendan 10 Oct 2018
In reply to JLS:

Hmmm, yeah I think this might have been where I've been going wrong in the past.

planetmarshall 11 Oct 2018
In reply to JLS:

> Well yes it's a plan but is it the best plan?