UKC

Max strength progression

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Cake 29 Jan 2022

I do a max strength session on my fingerboard roughly once a week at the moment and have done some frequent finger board work for periods in the past. I've actually done it for long enough this time (couple of months) to be able to add more weight. So how quickly would be reasonably safe?

I was on +22kg about a month ago. I added another kilo recently and then another today to make +24. I don't imagine an extra kilo every two weeks is sustainable, though.

For reference, I've been climbing for about twenty years, max boulder around 7a.

bouldery bits 29 Jan 2022
In reply to Cake:

Whatever you do here, do it slow. 

And out of public view. 

OP Cake 29 Jan 2022
In reply to bouldery bits:

> Whatever you do here, do it slow. 

Sounds reasonable

> And out of public view. 

Eh?

CantClimbTom 29 Jan 2022
In reply to Cake:

> Eh?

Out of public view. Because he's giving you 24 carat  golden advice, in fact as ligaments, tendons etc strengthen more slowly than muscles, once you are securely past the novice/noob stages you should progress at a rate that seems way too slow, stupidly wrongly slow, that way it's sustainable. Very boring.

But if you post about all this publicly, a heap of internet weirdos like me will give contradictory advice and distract you from his excellent advice. The best approaches aren't always the popular trendy "hack" to suddenly jump a level, those are the ones everyone likes to talk about

UKB Shark 29 Jan 2022

In reply to Cake:

> I do a max strength session on my fingerboard roughly once a week at the moment and have done some frequent finger board work for periods in the past. I've actually done it for long enough this time (couple of months) to be able to add more weight. So how quickly would be reasonably safe?