UKC

Hydration and onboard snacks

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Cusco 10 Apr 2022

Hi

Does anyone else find that hydration tablets and energy powders cause them stomach issues in rides? Even when watering down from the recommended amounts, I find the former have a background fizziness and the latter make me feel a bit nauseous on rides.

If so, do you have any recommendations or suggestions, as no doubt water alone on longer, harder rides does not replenish what your body needs?

Also, does anyone have any recommendations for onboard snacks (for rear pocket or top tube bag)? I need something every 20-30 minutes, even with a proper diet in the lead up to rides and I'm still exploring options to try to find what works best for me.

By way of some background, I'm a newbie, punter cyclist having bought a road bike last October, in my later 40s so without the base fitness, strength and speed of the roadies I see flying around (albeit that I managed the 100 mile Devon Coast 2 Coast in a day on my MTB last August 3 months after starting to ride). I'm signed up to a sportive on Dartmoor in June and have been doing 40-60+ mile training rides with 4,500-5,500ft ascent most weekends since December. Yesterday was a 64 miler (70 miles to/from the town centre car park) with 6,600ft ascent on the Dartmoor Classic Medio route, but my stomach felt crap throughout hence the above queries.

Many thanks 

Cusco 

Marek 10 Apr 2022
In reply to Cusco:

> ... as no doubt water alone on longer, harder rides does not replenish what your body needs...

Go back to basics: Water in your bottles and ordinary food. Unless you're a pro trying to squeeze every last percentage point of performance out of your body, you shouldn't need anything else. Sounds like you've been reading too much marketing info produced by people with a vested interest in suggesting that riding a bike for a day is somehow 'extreme'.

Just an opinion based on my experience, of course!