UKC

Help an american tourist going to Skye (gear beta, route recs)

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 nateblakely 20 Jan 2024

Hi all, I'm totally new to UKC so this is my first forum post, hoping to get a little advice. I'll be visiting the Isle of Skye mid June of this year with family and hopefully one of my climbing partners who goes to school in scotland but doesn't climb much except with me in California, so I'm looking here for help. I'll be there for three and a half days and I'm not really sure what gear to bring. I've ordered "Scottish Rock: North V2" for the specific rack that's most common and route specific beta (I'll probably bring doubles 3"-.4 BD c4/z4, singles .3-.1" Z4, offset DMM nuts 1 set, 1 set wild country rocks, 13 quickdraws). I'll be in Portree, so I was thinking of going to Staffin Slips and Kilt Rock, and perhaps Niest another day. These seem like pretty cool areas and I'm more into the seacliffs than what seem like more easy alpine routes on Sron na ciche, but if there's a really classic 5.8-5.9 (HVS?) multipitch somewhere up there without a super long approach i'd be interested but when I looked a lot of the routes up there seem pretty easy unless you do a variation and not worth the trek.

A few routes on my ticklist are from the "Skye Cracks" article from a UKC user. Grey Panther (E1 5b), Lat up a Drainpipe (HVS 5b), Frequent Flyer (HVS 5b). I like crack climbing and other recommendations with classic cracks are welcomed, but I'll probably just climb other things at the crags I'm already going to. I've never been to the country so I'm not really familiar with the grades or how sandbagged they are. I'm pretty comfortable onsighting up to 5.10a PG13 on granite in the sierras, for instance, and 5.6-5.9 i can really enjoy casually. But granite is probably an easier rock to read, so what grades should I be looking at climbing on dolerite? HVS-E1? or will VS still keep my attention and be fun climbing?