UKC

Mach Loop - Any tips for a noob going this week?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 The Lemming 05 Feb 2024

I'm off to Wales in the next few days to take a punt at the Mach Loop. I've never done this before and I'd really appreciate some last minute tips.

Stuff like useful focal lengths and what shutter speed to use please.

Some say low shutter speeds of 500th a second or less and some say 1,000th a second and higher.

I understand the desire to get a low shutter speed but I'd be afraid of wielding my camera around and getting too much camera shake to spoil my day, provided the military makes an appearance.

To be honest I'd be over the moon with something as sharp as this. Even though it was at an air-show and hung around for the cameras, rather than whipping past me in a few seconds.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/the1lemming/53119515657/in/dateposted/

felt 06 Feb 2024
In reply to The Lemming:

Couple of weeks ago I went to Troutbeck on the half-lookout for jets and all I got was this monstrous Atlas above a fence under a very wiry ash (@1/1000).

It had actually been lumbering around for a while so I should have been better prepared. I wonder if that's the Blackpool Tower in the distance?

In reply to The Lemming:

Ask the person with the most comfortable folding chair, biggest flask and drabbest anorak when you get there. They'll tell you everything you need to know. And an hour or so of stuff you didn't.

OP The Lemming 06 Feb 2024
In reply to Longsufferingropeholder:

I too will be taking a compfy chair and trusty Trangia for moral purposes.

MisterPiggy 06 Feb 2024
In reply to The Lemming:

Hmm... I'm presuming that you're shooting digital, not film... First step is to set your ISO as high as you can bear - taking into account noise and desire for giant prints afterwards.