UKC

Training tools: how to advice

Please Register as a New User in order to reply to this topic.
 Reader_Rambles 10 Apr 2024

Hello, 

I was gifted some Lattice training tools and would like to get the most out of them. The items are; 

- Quad Block with lifting pin

- Mini Bar

- Heavy roller

Does anyone have any resources or advice on how to structure a training session off these items. 
I also have a Beastmaker 1000 hang board which I am only following YouTube 'follow along' videos on. 

I am aiming to become a stronger climber through using these items as well from the indoor and outdoor climbing but I have very little knowledge of 'how to train' or 'plan a training programme', I just climb. My weekly routine would allow two weekday sessions (indoor or outdoors) and many evenings which would allow home training. 

After a rather long break in climbing, I have broken down my goals into: 

Short term (8 months) : Finish the calendar year with 50+ multi-pitch climbs including 'A Dream of White Horses', also 20+ Sport Climbs

Medium term (1.5 years) : Be comfortable climbing 6b (Sport & Trad), V5 (bouldering indoor only) and HVS (Trad). 

Long term (2 years) : Be knocking on the door of 7a (Sport & Trad), and E2 (Trad).

Thank you in advance for taking the time to read this and I look forward to your responses. 

Iamgregp 10 Apr 2024
In reply to Reader_Rambles:

I think the best thing to do would be to get in contact with a professional coach and ask them to put together a training plan.  

I've got very good results from Neil Gresham's personalised plans, and have heard good things about Lattice too.

Really good that you've thought about this and have some specific goals, that's the first thing Neil Gresham asked when he put together a plan for me, so it's good to be specific, rather than just say "erm... be better at climbing?" like I did!

Post edited at 13:50
 AJM 10 Apr 2024