UKC

Binoculars

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 GravitySucks 14 Dec 2023

Anyone willing to give me some pointers on purchasing a reasonable pair of binoculars, for occaitionaal use, fairly light and compact to take out onto the hill, with half decent optics but without breaking the bank ? Whats good and whats bad etc.
I realise that some of these criteria may be contradictory

Thanks

Graeme G 14 Dec 2023
In reply to GravitySucks:

Literally asked this question recently of a birding friend. What's your budget?

I have these which are small, light and pretty well received. I'm no expert and didnt need anything high end so they suited perfectly. They are good for looking at nature but I also find them pretty good when I want to look into the sky at night.

https://www.birders-store.co.uk/celestron-nature-dx-8x42-binoculars.html

To push the boat out:

https://www.outdoorgearlab.com/topics/camping-and-hiking/best-binoculars

Post edited at 15:32
OP GravitySucks 14 Dec 2023
In reply to Graeme G:

Dont really have a fixed budget, just would prefer not to spend a small fortune if not absolutely necessary

OP GravitySucks 14 Dec 2023
In reply to TheDrunkenBakers:

Thanks for the suggestion, the Celestron ones are in more in the budget range I had in mind than some of those (if not all) in the second article (gulp ! $$$)

rsc 14 Dec 2023

Might also depend on what you want to look at. If it’s mainly birds, I went into a RSPB visitor centre and got them to talk me through the options. I ended up with their Harrier 8x42, which for £230 was much better than the next cheapest. 
(There are some proper birdwatchers on here though who might be along soon.)

Myfyr Tomos 14 Dec 2023