UKC

Capping a radiator

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Flinticus 14 Oct 2019

Easy to do yourself? 

Looking to remove a radiator in a room for decorating

Oceanrower 14 Oct 2019
In reply to Flinticus:

Do you really need to cap the pipes? Can't you just turn the valves off each end?

deepsoup 14 Oct 2019
In reply to Oceanrower:

> Can't you just turn the valves off each end?

^This.

Also it might not be necessary to even remove the radiator.  If there's a little wiggle room in the pipes you're quite likely to find you can close the valves at both ends, loosen the nuts that connect those valves to the radiator itself then, leaving them connected, lift the radiator off its bracket and lay it down flat on the floor.

jasonC abroad 14 Oct 2019
In reply to Flinticus:

I did it myself it was not difficult, just watched a few Youtube videos.

I capped the pipes, I'm no expert but I think you have to, I didn't do it at first and got a fair bit of water coming  out during the course of the evening.

gethin_allen 14 Oct 2019
In reply to Flinticus:

As oceanrower says, just turn the valves off at the ends. Take care if you have thermostatic valves fitted, if the house gets really cold they'll open and flood the place. These valves come with a service cap that screws in the place of the thermostat body but most get discarded, which is useful.

If the valves are old and leaky you can bodge a cap using the locking ring from a compression fitting with a 5 p piece and a rubber washer or piece of bike inner tube jammed in the end. Necessity is the mother of invention and all that.

Toerag 14 Oct 2019
In reply to Oceanrower:

yes, assuming they will actually close. It'd be sensible to reduce the pressure in the system if possible.

Snyggapa 14 Oct 2019
In reply to Flinticus:

all depends on how scaled up your valves are. As other have said, my order of preference would be :