UKC

Tax rebate guidance

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 James Malloch 23 Apr 2024

I’m a contractor but get paid via an agency (PAYE) which doesn’t allow me to pay into a private pension.

I have been paying into one from my Net Pay and now need to reclaim tax from contributions which were over the higher rate tax bracket.

Is the easiest way to do this registering for a self assessment, and then submitting a self assessment? I just have income and pension contributions, so nothing complicated like dividends, interest etc to worry about.

If so, are the forms simple to complete or is it worth having an accountant file one for me?

Or is there a simpler way to do this?

montyjohn 23 Apr 2024
In reply to James Malloch:

I think doing the self assessment form yourself would be the way forward. Just take your time and google things you don't understand.

One of the first parts of the form will ask you "did you do think thing you've never heard of and don't know what it means". After a quick google, you realise it's not relevant to you, so you click no, and then the form gets much smaller and will then be limited to your pension contribution bit.

Bits that nearly caught me out.

When you enter the amount you paid into your pension, divide it by 0.8 if you paid into a SIPP, as it explains in the instructions it wants the amount paid into the SIPP, not what you paid in. I,e, include the government 20% top up.

It then asks you to enter it again using similar wording and it took me a while to work out what the difference was. In a nut shell, it's trying to establish if the amount you paid into the SIPP is a one off payment or a regular payment. If regular, they may adjust your tax code.

I entered the same value again as I want my tax code to remain unchanged.

The rest of it was straight forward and probably only took 20 minutes.

OP James Malloch 23 Apr 2024
In reply to montyjohn: