UKC

Beginner Alpinism - no UK rock experience?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 simplyawful 07 Feb 2021

Hello all

Got a beginners question, have searched but not found an exact match (apologies if I've missed)

To what extent is it possible to get started with alpine routes without significant UK rock experience? Say only grade one scrambles (CMD Arete etc). I am moving to France later in the year (Langeudoc) and am keen to do some summer summits in Pyrenees / southern Alps, sticking to F, perhaps PD. The idea was hire a guide to show some crampon / glacier travel techniques then just set off on the easiest peaks.

Will I be extremely limited if I have zero roped ice / rock experience to date? There are crags near where I'm headed (Le Joncas extremely close) but to be honest dry rock doesn't appeal in the same way (no offence!). I suppose what I'm asking is whether this is an essential skill to get under my belt before committing to the cost and drive time of going alpine.

Any thoughts greatly appreciated

Doug 07 Feb 2021
In reply to simplyawful:

Many French climbers start in the Alps with no/little rock climbing experience. Consider joining the local branch of the French Alpine Club once you get to France.

pdone 07 Feb 2021
In reply to simplyawful:

There are peaks which you can walk up without even scrambling but you will expand your scope considerably if you have some decent scrambling experience.  Many peaks - particularly at PD - require extensive scrambling for which the use of a rope for some sections might be wise - and for peace of mind.  As you intend hiring a guide for glacier travel techniques, include some peaks of the sort you are interested in - you will soon find out what is involved and what techniques, skills and equipment are needed.

Good luck.

OP simplyawful 07 Feb 2021
In reply to Doug:

Thanks - greatly appreciated.