UKC

Robin Smith

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Calder 25 Jul 2007
I finished reading High Endeavours for the 2nd time last night, and as I reached for the light switch I noticed that it was in fact the anniversary of Robin Smiths death - the 45th (he died 24th July 1962) for the record.

I consider him worthy of a mention on here:

The stories - particularly those written by himself - about his climbs and adventures are incredible, and genuinely awe inspiring. And that he was considered by the age of 23 to have been the best SMC mountaineer of his generation, and quite possibly ever, says quite a lot about his ability.

I know I'm relatively new to this climbing/mountaineering game, but I'm pretty confident that during the times when other sources of motivation and inspiration start to wane I'll be able to pick this book up and read one of his articles to suitably enthuse me again.

To the point... Basically, just post your thoughts about him and his routes (I'm nowhere near good enough to have tried any... yet!).
 martin riddell 25 Jul 2007
In reply to Calder:

Aye, great book, inspirational guy, and a great guy by all accounts.

Geoffrey Michaels 25 Jul 2007
In reply to martin riddell:

Good book, better climber. His enthusiasm and lack of fear actually scared me (!). The book itself I found a bit dull at times but to read after having climbed on the Ben etc put some flesh on the bones...
 Norrie Muir 25 Jul 2007
In reply to Calder:

Yes, Smith was something else, he was head and shoulders above his generation. The legacy of his routes has lasted the test of time. It was extraordinary that a Smith Route is usually the best line on the crag and at the time also the hardest one. I am fortunate that I have done most of Smith’s routes and have not been disappointed with any of them.

I found the book disappointing, but that maybe because I had heard so much about him from people who knew him.