UKC

Climbing

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 AlpineDaz 29 Nov 2009
I am currently in my first year of climbing, and when am leading i have a fear of falling and hurting myself. I dont like fall training because i hate letting go and making myself fall. Is this normal for climbing? Can i change this in any way. I really enjoying bouldering and have no problems with that, so am i more suited to be a boulderer than a climber.
 sutty 29 Nov 2009
In reply to AlpineDaz:

Stick to washing clothes then with a name like yours.
OP AlpineDaz 29 Nov 2009
In reply to AlpineDaz: what do you mean?
The_JT 29 Nov 2009
In reply to AlpineDaz:

I think the trick to getting comfortable with falling is to do it. So, unless you're prepared to let go and fall I don't think you'll make any progress. However, I reckon it'll help if you do it in small steps and get comfortable with just sagging onto the rope, then small falls before you start taking larger falls. Look for some info on clip-drop.

Make sure you can trust your belayer 100%. For me, this makes a huge difference to what I can climb.

Alternatively, just climb really easy routes that you won't fall off.

JT
 Sandy Paterson 29 Nov 2009
In reply to AlpineDaz:

I think everyone has a fear of falling to some extent! Fall training has become something that is talked about alot recently, however I think you would find the majority of climbers have never done it. The more you climb the more you start to become comfortable in the environment and slowly you should become less scared. Make sure that you pick routes that are with in your capablites to start off with some you don't have epics. Always try and rationalise the fear, are you really in danger or do you just not want to fall. If after a few years you are still scared everytime you leave the ground then it might be that bouldering is for you.You could always try getting some coaching as this might help.

Good luck!