UKC

Suggestions for a newbie in Yorkshire

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 LottiePorter 18 Mar 2010
I've been climbing indoors for about 6 months (getting up to 4C on the climbing wall) but only just started leading/climbing outside. Our club is going to Yorkshire (near Brimham rocks) in a couple of weeks and I wondered if anyone had any suggestions on which routes would be nice for me to try.

(I know about the crag guides on UKC but I'm particularly interested in people's personal experiences)

Lottie
 lummox 18 Mar 2010
In reply to LottiePorter: depends how much you want to push it... stuff like Heather Wall, Old Climb and Cubic Corner on Cubic block are good introductions to the crag and at an amenable angle and grades. Similar grade crack routes to the r of Lover's Leap are a good introduction to jamming/crack climbs.

A bit more esoteric but great at V.Diff is Grit Corner, over beyond Hatter's Groove. Enjoy !
 Jimmy56 18 Mar 2010
In reply to lummox: Interesting set of suggestions - Heather Wall has a tricky, unprotected and polished start that I've seen new leaders back off a few times, Old Corner is usually filthy, Grit Corner is pretty awkward to begin then a plod, Cubic Corner is ace but MVS.

I'd recommend something clean and well protected like Cracked Corner, plus things like The Belfrey, Difficult Crack, President's Progress and for something harder Lover's Leap Chimney.
 lummox 18 Mar 2010
In reply to Jimmy56: well the OP did say that they had climbed up to 4c indoors so nothing harder than 4b in my suggestions... things have obviously changed over the years- I never thought I 'd see Heather Wall described in those terms and I'm a natural born coward : )
 Simon Caldwell 18 Mar 2010
In reply to lummox:
I backed off the start of Heather Wall first time I tried it, and I've seen a fair few others do the same. Definitely easier for the tall
OP LottiePorter 18 Mar 2010