UKC

When to use G14's?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
thinbennyboy 07 Oct 2011
Hi there
I am a bit of a beginner at the whole winter climbing thing, I have done a winter skills course and some a few winter leads last year and I am totally hooked! Last year I was using Sportiva Trango Alps and Grivel Air Tech Crampons and climbed grade III ice now worries. This year I will be using Nepal Extremes with either the same crampon configuration or G14’s as I got them both at a great price. This is a bit of background to my question.
I am considering selling the G14’s for a bit of profit as they are new, but I am just wondering if it was worth my while. How hard do you need to be climbing to justify wearing something like this, I don’t want to be all the gear and no Idea rocking up to grade III’s with super technical crampons but I don’t want to selling them and find out that for grade for grade IV something this technical would be a really benefit? I know this is personal preference but a few peoples thoughts would be great.
Cheers
Ben
 dsh 07 Oct 2011
In reply to thinbennyboy:

How much do you want for the G14s?
 CurlyStevo 07 Oct 2011
I think having both types of crampon is very usefull. I'm not a great fan of the g14 though as I didn't find the front point protruded far enough and the mono point is a bit of a strange fit on nepals (the boot rests on the point rather than the crampon frame).

The protrusion of the points is dependent on the fitting, I only tried crampomatic and I found the stock G14 grivel toe bail bars varied so some were OK.

So in short if your front points protrude enough and you are happy with the mono fit then keep them otherwise flog um with view to getting another similar monopoint crampon in the future.
 SonyaD 07 Oct 2011