UKC

Choices at the multi-pitch sport belay

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 russtyg 29 Nov 2012
Hi there,

I'm interested in hearing people's opinions and preferences with regards to conduct at a multi-pitch sport belay (say in this example, two staple bolts linked by a chain).

Forgive my lack of knowledge as I'm relatively new to this.

So, upon arrival at a bolted belay and after clipping the rope with a quickdraw to one of the bolts, should the leader then:

a) secure themselves further using the rope tied into the harness and a clove hitched HMS to the other bolt/chain
or
b) secure themselves further using a sling larks footed to their harness using a HMS to the other bolt/chain
or
c) another method
or
d) either, depends which is easier to reach etc

Thanks!

Russty
 Oujmik 29 Nov 2012
In reply to russtyg: I'm guessing, because I've never climbed MP sport, but I'd go for option d. The larksfoot is quicker and easier if you're pumped and just want something to hang off and there is no change of it taking a fall with any slack. The clove hitch is probably safer and more comfortable if you're not going to be hanging from it and has the bonus of being adjustable.

The larksfoort also has the advantage of being separate from the rope, but I guess this isn't really so important in MP as you'll need remain tied in for the next pitch anyway.
 JamieSparkes Global Crag Moderator 29 Nov 2012
In reply to russtyg: I tend to do b) initially and then to clove hitch a bight of rope to the other bolt, gives a bit more redundancy and makes the belay more stable/less swingy.
 Ciro 29 Nov 2012
In reply to russtyg:

I was taught to do the following:

1) Screwgate on each bolt
2) Clove hitch my end of the rope to one screwgate
3) Clove hitch (or fig. 8) to second screwgate about a meter along the rope from the first knot