UKC

Buying a guitar - what to look for?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Tall Clare 12 Dec 2012
Hi everyone,

I'd like to purchase a guitar for someone to learn to play. I know nothing of these things.

I'd like an acoustic guitar - or do I want a classical guitar? What's the difference? A non-electric one anyway. And - as the person in question is a complete novice - what would you recommend as a good option for a beginner? How much should I be looking at paying? Are there any particularly good secondhand sources in West/North Yorkshire?

Oh, and your recommendations for guitar shops between Skipton and Leeds (so that includes Bradford and Keighley) would be gratefully received!
 JH74 12 Dec 2012
In reply to Tall Clare:

Recently I had my girlfriend's guitar restrung as a gift. I used a local family run music store (randomly found online) who were SO helpful and SO reasonable that I found myself looking around the shop to see what else I cold buy just to support them.

Why not do a bit of a reccy online and call around and see what people say? You may, with luck, have an experience like I did.
 JimboWizbo 12 Dec 2012
In reply to Tall Clare: If s/he wants to play classical or flamenco then I would lean toward a Nylon strung guitar, otherwise steel string.

Steel strings are harsher on the fingers but will toughen them up nice and fast.

I find round back guitars easier to play (Ovation Applause for example) than jumbo acoustics (big fat body) but that's just my preference.

I'm a bit of a guitar snob so I think 100quid is a good price for a decent quality first guitar.

If you find a large music shop then I'm sure they could advise you on what's best in store.
 Bulls Crack 12 Dec 2012
In reply to Tall Clare: