UKC

Free tuition : Learn to lead / scrambling

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 g2 02 Jun 2015
FREE Opportunities during August 2015:
15th August – 23rd August (all days in-between and inclusive)

My MIA (Mountain Instructors Award) assessment is imminent, and I am looking for people (preferably pairs) to provide free tuition to, in final preparation for it.

I am particularly interested to hear from people wanting to make their first steps in leading in a multi-pitch traditional environment. This would suit climbers who have lead indoors and now want to gain an understanding of placing wires, reading routes and building bombproof belays.
I am also looking for volunteers to enter into the world of scrambling, they may have experience of many mountain days walking and now wish to experience steeper terrain. Scrambling offers some breath-taking vantage points and a whole new range of skills and movement.

I currently work as a teacher and part time freelance outdoor instructor. I hold the Summer Mountain Leader award (ML) and Single Pitch Rock Climbing award (SPA), have completed my Mountain Instructor Award (MIA) training and am a trainee member of the Association of Mountaineering Instructor (AMI)

My assessment dates are at the end of August and I'm available for almost all of July and August to take people out both weekdays and weekends.

If you'd like to take up this opportunity please email me through here giving a brief outline of your previous experience and what you'd like to learn, as well as a contact number so we can have a chat and we'll go from there.

Car sharing from Wrexham in to North Wales is available.

PLEASE NOTE:

MIA Trainee