UKC

Closing the gap on the Forth Crossing

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Any Civil Engineers on here? Un-civil ones need not reply. I have exhausted the usual search engines so I have come to the authority on everything. Today the last section of the new Forth Road Bridge was lifted into place. From the footage it appears that there was still a gap of 10-20 cms when it was at the right height. So what happened next - how do they close that gap and fix the new section in place?
 Rob Exile Ward 03 Feb 2017
In reply to keith-ratcliffe:

Duct tape.
 WildCamper 03 Feb 2017

Im not a civil engineer but i suspect that could be an expansion gap of some sort and may be filled with a flexible caulk

just a guess though
 gethin_allen 03 Feb 2017

When the second severn crossing was being built there was a massive gap both horizontal and vertical when the last section was offered up. Apparently it was an issue with having all the weight of the construction machinery lifting the section into place on one side so they had to do things with ballast to get things to come together.
 Jack B 03 Feb 2017
The whole deck of the bridge is hanging from the towers, and where it passes them it is pinned in such a way that it can't move sideways too much in the wind, but can still move along it's length. At either end are big expansion joints (I'm pretty sure there are only two on the new bridge), which allow the ends of the deck to move without making gaps. Before they lift the last deck section, they use some huge winches and cables to pull the gap open wider, shoving both halves of the deck back onto the expansion joints. Then lift the deck segment on a nice calm day - 20cm isn't much clearance! They'll join it onto one side, then on another nice calm day they'll pay out the cables until the gap closes, and join it up.

At least I think that's how it works... I'm neither civil nor an engineer :-P.
Post edited at 19:59
 Fraser 03 Feb 2017