UKC

5:2 diet

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 ffati 27 Feb 2017
Starting to try this diet as a way of controlling the ongoing battle with the belly.

A few questions how do you fit it in with your training, fasting day on a rest day or on a easy training day?

Seems to be two thoughts on the diet full fasting or a limited supply of calories ie 500
What's the best im edging towards limited supply as i have a pretty physical job.
 the sheep 27 Feb 2017
In reply to ffati:

The limited supply works fine, no need to full fast. Also if you are a bloke the figure rises to 600 calories.
In reply to ffati:

I've been doing the 5:2 for a few years and it's worked for me. I've reached my target weight but I still do it to maintain target weight. I do the two diet days (eating 600 calories) on climbing/training days.
 crombie 27 Feb 2017
In reply to ffati:

I would do some light cycling on a fast day to distract me from food and hunger, then low calorie hot chocolate drink (Options) and an early night. Could never maintain this diet for more that 6 weeks but it seemed to work quite well.
 stubbed 27 Feb 2017
In reply to ffati:

I did this diet for over a year and it worked well for me. I would climb on a fast day and your body gets used to the fast so after a few months I could run also. My trick was to have tea / coffee / fruit until about 5pm, then have stir fry, then train about an hour or two later, cup of tea, then bed. Exercise tends to reduce my appetite in the short term.
In reply to ffati:

I tend to find that a fingerboard & stretching session works best for me on a fasting day, but I've not really tried to climb on a fasting day.

The diet itself worked really well for me, it pretty much all came off in body fat (seem to remember my lean muscle mass going up, but I don't know enough to know if that's an obvious link )

Steve
 richprideaux 27 Feb 2017
In reply to ffati: