UKC

Ben Nevis tourist path conditions and crampons

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 devon_roadie 10 Apr 2018

First of all apologies if this is in the wrong section.

On Friday I'm heading up to Fort William for a weeks hiking. Having never done Ben Nevis before I would like to do it whilst up there, but due to the recent snow I wanted to check whether that's realistic or not.

Does anyone know what the current conditions are? I could leave Nevis until the end of next week if it would improve conditions enough to reach the summit without winter equipment.

Failing that, would it be a really bad idea hiring boots/crampons and ice axe if I've never used them before?

I've never done any winter walking but have done plenty of summer ridge routes like the Snowdon Horseshoe and the Ring of Steall.

Thanks in advance for any advice ????

Scott K 10 Apr 2018
In reply to devon_roadie:

Check this out to get an idea. Looks like there is still a lot of snow around the Ben

https://www.facebook.com/HunterMountaineering/posts/1454470694656785

jonnie3430 10 Apr 2018

Watch these: Skills: walking and climbing in winter: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLTodUXkQjZwxa2g6yfV21wLRXffbAdFxT

Pick a nice day early on, hire axes and crampons and go find some snow and practise what you've watched. If you think you're okay, then go for the Ben, if not, get more practise.

You could always post on here for a winter walking partner with a bit of experience to share. Or see if there is anyone practising for a winter ml who is looking for a crash test dummy.

Root1 10 Apr 2018

The Ben is in winter condition. Learn how to navigate safely from the summit. 

Are you aware that if you take a bearing from the summit for the descent path using the one inch map it will take you straight over the cornice above Gardyloo gully. ( the gully cuts deeply into the plateau). The tourist path is not passable without crampons in hard snow conditions.