UKC

Which rugged smartphone?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.

Keen to get people’s views on which smartphone can withstand outdoor use. Am fed up with my flimsy iphone’s inability to survive day to day life let alone the outdoors.

I am particularly interested in the experiences of outdoor professionals who can offer wise advice rather than “put it in a waterproof bag and don’t drop” type of advice!

Anyone with experience of the Cat S30?

Thanks.

Post edited at 14:23
 jamscoz 27 May 2018
In reply to nickinscottishmountains:

Bought a Samsung A5 not for its durability but for it's camera... so also bought a 'LOVEMEI' aluminum phone case due to its built in attachment point  - it isn't getting dropped off any crags any time soon(used with some cord and a mailon)... Quite bulky but its taken a few decent knocks already.

Post edited at 14:39
 Mr. Lee 27 May 2018

I'm not a professional, so don't know if that makes my opinion worthless, but why not just get a hard wearing case? I must dropped my Motorola G model about 50 times and it's still fine. And seriously, just put it in a dry bag if there's risk of wet conditions. What is the above phone seriously going to offer in addition? Waterproofing to 30m depth seems overkill. 

In reply to Mr. Lee:

Rugged iphone cases aren’t up to it and I do put it in a waterproof bag. I’m looking for a robust phone.

In reply to jamscoz:

Thanks will have a look at the alum case.

boriselbrus 27 May 2018

I've been using a Samsung Xcover 3 around for the last couple of years. It's been dropped, frozen and spent several hours submerged in a rucksack after a bladder split and it still looks like new.

Probably not the greatest phone - the camera is fairly rubbish but it does everything I need it to and I see no reason to change it.  There is now an Xcover 4 which bizarrely seems to be cheaper than the older model. 

timjones 27 May 2018