UKC

MS Project

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 mwr72 11 Apr 2022

I'm looking for MS Project, but don't want to go down the monthly subscription route.

Any recommendations for a download without paying a huge amount for a product key?

I don't mind older versions btw.

Thanks in advance.

Route Adjuster 12 Apr 2022
In reply to mwr72:

Unless you get hold of a pirated copy then no luck, MS have really tied it down from a license perspective.  What is it you need to do, there are some open source alternatives that have basic functionality to create Gantt charts, resource loading, project costs etc. ProjectLibre is the one I am most familiar with, works fine just doesn't look as nice as a modern MS application.

OP mwr72 12 Apr 2022
In reply to Route Adjuster:

Thanks for the reply.

I'm a site manager not a project manager (yet) so can't justify the cost.

I want to be able to alter the program I have on site to be able to show where progress has been made and reluctantly where we have slipped behind for one reason or another(currently adverse weather).

The program that is sent out is MS Project so anything else would have to be compatible, ie being able to alter the critical path etc.

Aigen 12 Apr 2022
In reply to mwr72:

I think it only cost a tenner per month, if even that. 

The New NickB 12 Apr 2022
In reply to mwr72:

> Thanks for the reply.

> I'm a site manager not a project manager (yet) so can't justify the cost.

> The program that is sent out is MS Project so anything else would have to be compatible, ie being able to alter the critical path etc.

Your employer should be paying for it then. Or if you are self employed, it’s a legitimate business expense.

GEd_83 12 Apr 2022
In reply to mwr72: