UKC

Heavy legs + steep climbing

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 dinodinosaur 27 Oct 2020

Someone humour me, does anyone struggle with heavy legs? Maybe I should skip leg day... 

afx22 27 Oct 2020
In reply to dinodinosaur:

I have a background in various forms of biking, so have heavier legs than most climbers.  But iI like steep stuff and cutting loose.  Holding tension, when really stretched out, is a weakness of mine but I think heavy legs are just one of many factors there.

ChrisBrooke 27 Oct 2020

‘Heavy legs’ is one of my favourite excuses! They’re the reason I’m not very good at: steep stuff, crimpy stuff, overhangs, sit starts, dynos,......erm anything really. Can’t really use it for being rubbish at slabs.... and still....

pec 27 Oct 2020

> Someone humour me, does anyone struggle with heavy legs?

John Dunne never seemed to to be troubled by having legs that would put a top class downhill ski racer to shame.

Post edited at 23:12
 MischaHY 28 Oct 2020

If you're struggling to keep your legs on then your core (not just abs) is the weak link, plus probably foot technique. Body positioning changes quite significantly on steep ground and one reason many people struggle is they attempt to apply the same principles as on slab/vertical/lightly overhanging terrain of keeping hips in, whereas with steep climbing that will quickly knacker the core and require much more force to keep the feet on. Instead, it's better to use a lot more twisting and drop knees to make longer moves, and focus on keeping the core tight when stretching out.