UKC

strength, power, endurance. what comes first?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 justdoit 09 Jan 2020

hello, 

I am wondering what others do for the training season. mainly im wondering about what order or 'is there any order? that people train in different areas. keeping it simple im asking about strength (mainly relating to finger strength e.g max hangs). power, this is something ive never really trained before specifically, im looking more at aerobic as I usually climb routes (foot on campus laddering?) anymore suggestions? Then endurance, this is usually (4x4 mainly boulder, 7,3's fingerboard, route pyramid e.g 6a,6a+,6b,6b+,6c,6c+,7a,6c+,6c etc. 

what I really want to get to if I haven't already is what order would people train these different areas in, the way i am doing it atm is. strength, power, endurance. 

I started training September - November, this included lots of very easy milage, lots of core (and still doing it), antagonistic. 

thanks 

jezb1 09 Jan 2020
In reply to justdoit:

Need to know what your aim is really, and where you’re currently at relative to that.

OP justdoit 09 Jan 2020
In reply to jezb1:

this year (2020) I AM going to climb 7b, also for trad I want to onsight more British 5c/6a. 

currently I am still doing strength training (so hangs on finger board for 10 sec 3 mins rest x 6 on 20mm holds) 2 times a week, also plenty of bouldering indoors and outside. routes indoors. also core after every session and antagonistic. I plan to continue this until February, then start the power training, but keep up with the fingerboarding. then training endurance mid march, all the way to end of April. if all goes to plan obviously.  

Jon Stewart 09 Jan 2020
In reply to justdoit: