UKC

Camping near Cir Mhor

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 aajr95 28 Feb 2021

I consider myself an optimist and like to think I'll be able to get out to Arran at some point in the near future in a post covid world. Until then, I will of course wait until it is acceptable to do so. Like many of you, I am planning trips as I have recently moved to Glasgow.

I have a long weekend in Arran planned with my girlfriend where we will head up through Glen Rosa, camp near Cir Mhor for the night. The following day we will climb the Sou'Wester Slabs and camp (ideally in the same location). Then the final day we will climb the "Evening Traverse" on Goatfell and camp (ideally in the same location).

As I am new to Scotland, I am unsure of the norms with wild camping, so I have some questions...

Where would you recommend camping to climb Sou'Wester Slabs in the Glen?

Would it be normally safe to leave a camp site set up? Will people steal our stuff?

Is it considered bad etiquette to leave your camp site pitched while you are off climbing?

Are small camp fires considered bad etiquette when camping in Scotland?

Is it normal practice to bring your own firewood or is it readily available in the glen?

I really appreciate the help in advance. Looking forward to your responses

spenser 01 Mar 2021
In reply to aajr95:

Best bet is to deck your tent and hide the gear under a bush or some such with a dated note taped on it so no-one thinks you have forgotten it/ abandoned it.

Camp fires are always considered as bad etiquette while wild camping in the UK, I suspect it would also not be allowed within the confines of the Land Reform Act which grants the freedom of access in Scotland. The key phrase is "Take nothing but photos, leave nothing but footprints".

Last question is irrelevant as you won't have a fire.

skog 01 Mar 2021
In reply to aajr95: