UKC

Learning to Multipitch

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Lily Wilson 16 Mar 2024

Hi, I've been climbing for 3 years and am confident lead climbing and belaying, inside and outside. I was hoping to ask for advice regarding getting a course to learn multi-pitch techniques. Are there any which would be reccomended / surprisingly budget friendly? I could potentially learn these skills from the people around me but thought a course could be a great way to improve my confidence. I'm Sheffield based, but would be open to travelling for a course, as there are many places I would like to see anyways.

Thanks for your time!

john arran 16 Mar 2024
In reply to Lily Wilson:

If you're comfortable with belaying a second from above and with setting up abseils, there's precious little to learn in terms of doing things safely. A course will be able to fast track your learning regarding more efficient ways of organising belays and ropes, but there's no reason why it should be seen as essential, unless you're notably nervous about the idea and want reassurance that you'll be fine in a multipitch environment.

My suggestion would be to read a little about multipitch belays and stance management and then to go out and do a few easy routes, ideally ones with suitably big ledges for belays and giving yourself plenty of time.

If you still want to do a course to get slicker then fine, but it may be that by then you've learned enough about your limitations to make a good decision as to how to address them, whether that be by books/videos, by taking a course, or by finding more experienced climbers to help.

Alex Riley 16 Mar 2024
In reply to john arran:

Hi Lily

I've sent you an email.

Alex

midgen 16 Mar 2024
In reply to Lily Wilson:

In my view, if you've a few years lead experience, multipitch should be no problem. Understand the theory, from a book, or vids such as :

https://youtu.be/DYTCun48TKs?si=hyQsYF-tRlsvbExY