UKC

Sport Climb taboo

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Liam187 26 Aug 2012
I'm new to climbing so please forgive my ignorance.....why is there no sports routes in the UK!?!? Why are people so against sport climbing?

A friend told me that some people even take down sport routes that are put up because they feel everyone should climb trad, is this true?
 La benya 26 Aug 2012
In reply to Liam187:
forgiven, there are, they aren't, they do on occasion but no, not really
In reply to Liam187: you are mistaken. there is sport climbing in the uk. what we have in the UK are ethics preventing the development of sport clmbing where it is not necessary such as on grirstone where it is possible to place one's own removable protection.

On the continent they are a little bit more relaxed about the whole 'ethics' part.
 John_Hat 26 Aug 2012
In reply to higherclimbingwales:
> (In reply to Liam187) you are mistaken. there is sport climbing in the uk. what we have in the UK are ethics preventing the development of sport clmbing where it is not necessary such as on grirstone where it is possible to place one's own removable protection.
>
> On the continent they are a little bit more relaxed about the whole 'ethics' part.

^^ What he said.

There's actually quite a lot of sport climbing around, especially on limestone.
In reply to John_Hat: Just realised I should have worded my final sentence as

> On the continent they are a little bit more 'relaxed' about the whole ethics part.
 Kemics 26 Aug 2012

mostly because euro-lime would lend it's self very poorly to trad climbs. We're lucky we have the rock we do (or cursed....?)
 UKC Forums 27 Aug 2012
This thread was started in the ROCKTALK forum and has now been moved.
Please could you try and post in the correct forum, it makes life easier for both users and moderators.