UKC

Why don't I have incredibly strong fingers?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
MikePemberton 05 Oct 2009
As I fell off some middling grade boulder problem at the wall last week, I got to idly wondering why my grip strength isn't much better than it is. After all, I've been climbing for about five years now, and in my case that involves hanging eighty-odd kilograms of me, from my fingers, off a variety of small holds, several times a week.

Now, were I of the body building persuasion, and had been lifting bigger and bigger weights several times a week for many years, I would expect to have huge biceps, muscle-y man-tits, and quite possibly a tiny cock (is it the steroids that do that? I digress...)

So, brains of UKC, why is it that grip strength seems to build so damn slowly?! And for a bonus point, why do body builders have small penises?
 Phil79 05 Oct 2009
In reply to MikePemberton:

Because your fingers dont have muscles. There just tendons, and the tendons take alot longer to respond to training loads than muscle.

There are so many variations of grip, body position, etcetc which makes pulling on holds while 'several times a week' not very specific (in relation to doing weighs in the gym, which is the same movment over and over again). Get a fingerboard/campus board and start to isolate the fingers seem to be the conventional wisdom.
 GrahamD 05 Oct 2009

I can assure you that steroids aren't necessary.
Serpico 05 Oct 2009
In reply to Phil79:
> (In reply to MikePemberton)
>
> Because your fingers dont have muscles. There just tendons...

Yes they do, tendon is just the link between bone and muscle. If you didn't have muscles for your fingers no movement could take place.
In reply to the OP: you already have strong fingers, you're just expecting them to work at elite levels with more weight than an elite climber.
In reply to MikePemberton: The bodybuilder bit is pish, but may be true of steroid users.
 TradHolden 05 Oct 2009