UKC

What is the point of sport climbing?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Juglan 06 Nov 2010
I am not a troll. I am a relative beginner but I have done bits of all kinds of climbing.

Bouldering - is exciting and fun, especially with friends.I like the power and the problem solving but it never gets too boring, since there is no hanging, taking and the sequences are short. It is of course also pure and childlike.

Trad - Exciting positions, balanced sometimes on seemingly nothing. This is my favourite kind of climbing, small holds, blank rock, exciting lines and situations.

Ice/Winter - Amazing and exhilierating. Its what I personally want to focus on.

What I dont understand is where sport fits in? All the above fill a cetain niche, whereas the existence of bouldering seems to make sport seem pointless. Its less pure, more anoraky and much les beautiful. For example I fail to see the beauty of steep overhanging limestone. If I look at Birketts recent climb, conversely, and that big, bare bit of rock it looks wonderful. I admire people like Sharma but I never dream of doing it myself.

So I ask, genuinly out of interest, given the existence of bouldering, what do sport climbers get out of sport that they don't other types of climbing?

Thanks
 La benya 06 Nov 2010
In reply to Lupine Lacuna:

thats like saying 'why do some poeple like strawberry icecream, and others chocolate?'

its horses for courses.

i see sport as an extrension of bouldering, concentrating on the moves but with an increase in duration and exhiliration by the height. your right limestone isnt beautiful sometimes, but go to places like siurana and then tell me its not beautiful.

as i always say to people that climb but dont 'get' sport; your not doing it right! your either treating it like trad and goig up stuff thats too easy, the idea is to push yourself to the limit (sorry!) or your getting spanked and dont like it.