UKC

I hate this particular Christmas song...

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 The Lemming 06 Dec 2016
The Pogues and Kirsty MacColl singing Fairytale of New York.

What Christmas tune will you have to be subjected to while out and about this festive period?
In reply to The Lemming:

then you've got cloth ears and no soul, lemming....

not just the best christmas song, by a country mile, but one of the best songs...

planetmarshall 06 Dec 2016
In reply to no_more_scotch_eggs:

> not just the best christmas song....

Like a competition for the prettiest turd.

Toccata 06 Dec 2016
In reply to The Lemming:

I thought I'd escaped Christmas music this year until I noticed it in the bike shop. Upon enquiring as the why on Earth they were playing it I was informed that the staff felt it made people less likely to ask for discounts.

No discount was offered on my two 26" tubes...
 Ams1101 06 Dec 2016
In reply to The Lemming:

When I worked in retail, in the days before Christmas, I would swap out the Christmas CD for The Beatles hits. I noticed all the Christmas shoppers in a good mood would bop along. Same feel good, almost Christmass-y, feeling but less painful. Also, you haven't hated Christmas songs properly until you've worked in retail in December.
 Hat Dude 06 Dec 2016
In reply to The Lemming:

In my teens I had a Saturday job in a local supermarket; in the run up to Christmas they had one Christmas album, "Twelve Songs of Christmas" by Jim Reeves which was played on repeat all day. It still makes me shudder to think of it.
 toad 06 Dec 2016
In reply to The Lemming:

I think I'm with you on this. It's been sold as the only christmas song it's ok to like, but it's a really bleak song about mutual abuse with no redemption or light at the end. Fine as far as that goes, I've got lots of Roger Waters , but it's not on my christmas playlist.

Ok, Slade aren't there either, but Greg Lake and Wizzard are, and so is Kate Bush